Josphat Nanok elected as the next third CoG. PHOTO | Courtesy

Turkana Governor Josphat Nanok has been named as the new chairman of the Council of Governors. He replaced the outgoing Meru governor peter Munya. Peter Munya term ended this Month and they elected the Turkana governor for his tight and strong stand.

Taita Taveta Governor John Mruttu has retained his seat as Vice-chairman of the council while Kiambu's William Kabogo has been appointed chief whip to replace Ukur Yattani of Marsabit County.

 He becomes the third governor to hold the seat that brings together all the 47 counties. The first CoG chairman was Bomet Governor Isaac Rutto who held the position from 2013 until May 21, 2015.

The Turkana Governor is elected to the post following an exchange of words with the president Uhuru Kenyatta regarding the Oil in Turkana allegedly the state grabbed oil fields in the county.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post