Samuel Poghisio replaces Kipchumba Murkomen as new Senate majority leader
West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio the new Senate Majority leader. FILE
West Pokot Senator Samuel Poghisio has been appointed the new Senate Majority leader replacing Elgeiyo Marakwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen.

The changes were effected following a Jubilee Coalition Senate Parliamentary Group Meeting on Monday chaired by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Poghisio will now be deputised by Isiolo senator Fatuma Dullo Adan.

READ ALSO: Uhuru swallows the Cork, Moi sign the marriage deal

The Murang'a Senator Irungu Kang'ata has replaced Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika as the Majority Chief Whip and is deputised by Wajir nominated senator Farhiya Ali Haji.

The communication from the State House said that 20 senators out of 35 Senators from both the Jubilee and KANU attended the meeting.

The Senate has 67 Senators both Nominated and elected senators.

The changes saw Deputy President William Ruto close allies Murkomen and Kihika losing their positions.

The changes come after the meeting between the president and KANU chairman Gideon Moi where the two agreed on the formation of a post-election coalition.

Senator Poghisio won his West Pokot senate seat during the 2017 general election using the KANU ticket.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post