EACC house center of intergrity
EACC house. FILE

Five Nandi county officials arrested over Sh 19.781 million fake tender.

Henry Maritim Koech, Meshack Oreu Tankoi, Wilson Kipchirchir Yebei, Henry Kibii Kirui and Leah Jelagat were involved in awarding a tender to a company belonging to one of them.

The EACC boss Twalib Mbarak said the five are currently being held at Eldoret Central Police Station and will be arraigned at the Eldoret Anti-Corruption Court on Friday.

EACC got reports of misappropriation of Sh19,781,551 at the County Government of Nandi in an award of a tender for Supply of Water Dispensers and Road Construction claimed to be awarded to M/s Makiki Agencies Limited, a company owned by senior officials of the County.

As investigations continue, they discovered that the former Chief Officer for Finance and Economic Planning at the county authorised payments to the agency, a company he owned.

The company had allegedly been contracted by the County to undertake an upgrade of roads.

The tender award was facilitated by the Head of Procurement and other County Officials.

"Recommendation upon concluding investigations, EACC submitted the Investigation Report to the Director of Public Prosecutions (DPP) pursuant to Section 35 of the Anti-Corruption and Economic Crimes Act," he said.

"The Director of Public Prosecutions independently reviewed the recommendations therein and granted consent to immediately arrest and charge the suspects with abuse of office and conflict of interest against the then Chief Officer Finance and Economic planning, Henry Maritim Koech, " Mr Twalib said.

Other charges in waiting include conspiracy to Commit an Offence of Corruption against all the individuals involved and fraudulent acquisition of Public Property against the then Chief Officer Finance and Economic Planning and Director of Makiki Agencies Limited, Mr Henry Maritim Koech.

"They will also be charged with deceiving Principal against the Chairpersons and Secretaries of the Tender Committees, Henry Kibii Kirui, Meshack Oreu Tankoi, Henry Maritim Koech, Wilson Kipchirchir Yebei and Ms Leah Jelagat," he stated.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post