President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed 'Farmaajo


The federal government of Somalia through President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed 'Farmaajo has cut diplomatic ties with neighbouring Kenya. 

The move comes after President Uhuru Kenyatta hosted Somaliland President Muse Bihi.

It has suspended all its diplomats from Nairobi and given Kenyan diplomats in Mogadishu seven days to leave the country.

The announcement was made by the Minister of Information Osman Abukar Dubbe on state media.

"The Somali government, based on its national sovereignty guaranteed by international law and order, and fulfilling its constitutional duty to safeguard the nationhood, unity and stability of the country, has decided to sever diplomatic relations with the Kenyan government," he said.

The decision comes after Somalia presented a letter of protest against Kenya to Sudanese Prime Minister Abdalla Hamdok, who is also chair of the regional bloc Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD).

Somalia recently accused Kenya of meddling in its internal affairs. Somali has now three presidential states. Jubaland, Somaliland and the federal republic of Somalia each with a President.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post