President, Speaker, Chief Justice cannot come from one GEMA community, MPs protest


Justice Martha Koome photo
Justice Martha Koome


Three arms of Government coming from one region is a mockery to the Kenyan democracy. MPs fired shots to the JSC for Justice Martha Koome appointment.

Legislators yesterday asked the JSC to reconsider other applicants for regional balance in the running of the country after President Kenyatta sent the name of Justice Martha Koome to Parliament for approval.

Justice Koome, who if approved, will head one arm of government, comes from the Mount Kenya region together with National Assembly Speaker Justin Muturi and President Uhuru Kenyatta.

" All the three arms of Government are led by GEMA or Mt. Kenya.  President from Gikuyu, Speaker from Embu and Chief Justice from Meru. Its a complete association. This is unacceptable, " an MP said on the side talks.

By law, Muturi is third in the hierarchy and would act as President in the absence of the President and the Deputy President.

"It is not acceptable that all the three arms of government are led by people from one region," said Lugari MP Ayub Savula.

Five other MPs and three senators also added their voices but did not want to be quoted, saying they will raise their concerns when Justice Koome appears before the house committee.

President Kenyatta on Wednesday quickly sent Koome’s name to Parliament for vetting by the National Assembly's Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post