Former Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu Babayao appointed to Nairobi Rivers Commission
Former Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu Babayao.

Former Kiambu governor Ferdinand Waititu Babayao, who was kicked out of office, has been chosen by President William Ruto to serve on the Nairobi Rivers Commission.

The leaders of the Nairobi Rivers Commission, which was set up by President William Ruto, will be Dr. Pamela A. Olet, Dr. Mumo Musuva, a representative of Nairobi City County, and Ms. Grace Senewa Mesopirr, a representative of the Ministry of Environment and Forestry.

Other members are Dr. Duncan Ojwang, who represents academia; Ms. Eva Muhia, who represents riverine communities; Ms. Elizabeth Wathuti, who represents civil society; Ms. Carlota Dal Lago, who represents the private sector; and Prof. Eng. Elijah Biama, who represents academia.

In a gazette notice dated December 2, 2022, President Ruto said that the Nairobi Rivers Commission has been given the mandate to "reclaim the rivers of Nairobi as a spine to the city's blue and green infrastructure for a better urban environment and quality of life."

In order to incorporate lessons learned into the current endeavour, the commission will also review earlier reports and suggestions made to restore the Nairobi River.

The Nairobi River Basin Project (UNEP, 2000), the Adopt-A-River Initiative (UNEP and Rotary Clubs, 2019-ongoing), the Nairobi River Regeneration Initiative (UN-Habitat and GoK, 2020-ongoing), and the Urban Rivers Regeneration Programme (NEMA, 2019–2024) are specifically mentioned in the Gazette Notice, which also incorporates lessons learned into the new initiative.

The commission will also monitor compliance with laws and regulations governing the environment of the basin and its catchment areas, develop codes of conduct and propose modalities for enforcement in collaboration with the relevant statewide agencies, and coordinate the activities of various players mandated to engage in the rehabilitation, protection, restoration, beautification, and sustainable development of the riverine basin within Nairobi City County.

The terms of office for the Commission members are three years, renewable once depending on performance. 

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post