Mary Wanyonyi Chebukati
Mary Wanyonyi Chebukati.

Mary Wanyonyi was put forth as a candidate for the position of Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA) on Tuesday, May 23, by President William Ruto's nomination.

The President said in an announcement that Wanyonyi was a feasible contender for the role based on her academic achievements as well as her history of working in the professional world.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) submitted Wanyonyi's name to him after choosing it from a group of three candidates that also included Thomas Ludindi Mwadeghu and Felicity Nkirote Biriri. Wanyonyi's nomination was successful.

In accordance with the provisions of Article 215 (2)(a) of the Constitution, the Head of State has submitted the name of Certified Public Accountant Mary A.C. Wanyonyi for consideration for the position of Chairperson of the Commission on Revenue Allocation (CRA).

During the ceremonies for Jamhuri Day on December 12, 2022, President William Ruto paid tribute to Wafula Chebukati, a former chairperson of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

"Wanyonyi is not only a certified accountant but also a certified mediator." In addition, she has a Master's degree in Business Administration as well as a Bachelor's degree in Commerce (Accounting). A portion of the statement went as follows: "The nominee has had an outstanding career in accounting that spans over three decades."

At the same moment, the Head of State announced that Dr. Phyllis Wambui Wagacha would be nominated to serve on the Salaries and Remuneration Commission (SRC) in the capacity of representing the Public Service Commission.

As a consequence of Dalmas Otieno's decision not to run in the elections scheduled for August 2022, the nomination was made possible.

"The Head of State has, pursuant to Article 230 (2)(b)(ii), nominated Dr. Phyllis Wambui Wagacha for appointment as a member of the Salaries and Remuneration Commission representing the Public Service Commission," the statement said.

Wagacha's name was one of three that had been submitted to the President, the other two being Phyllis Wambui Wagacha and Japhter Kiplimo Rugut. The president chose Wagacha as the candidate to nominate.

According to what was indicated in the announcement, "The nomination follows a competitive process in which the PSC recommended His Excellency the President."

Wagacha has prior experience working in a variety of jobs, including those at the Kenya Bureau of Standards (KEBS), the Kenya Institute for Public Policy Research and Analysis (KIPPRA), and the Kenya National Library Service (KNLS).

In addition to that, she was awarded a Doctor of Philosophy degree in Information Sciences from Moi University.

In the announcement, it was said that the nominations had been sent to the National Assembly so that Parliament might take them into consideration.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post