The Registrar of Political Parties Anne Nderitu
Registrar of Political Anne Nderitu

The Registrar of Political Parties has declined to confirm the radical changes to the Jubilee Party that were made by retired President Uhuru Kenyatta's faction.

On May 22, the former president's camp held a National Delegates Convention and resolved to make major changes to the party's leadership, including expelling members of a rival faction.

The NDC had resolved to expel former Kieni MP Kanini Kega, who has claimed the position of Secretary General and nominated MP Sabina Chege and National Treasurer Nelson Dzuya.

However, in a letter dated May 29 and addressed to Kioni, the registrar of parties informed Uhuru's camp that the request to confirm the changes had been declined because of a failure to submit complete documents.

The registrar of parties, Anne Nderitu, said Kioni did not submit a duly signed list of the attendance of the delegates at the NDC together with their ID numbers for the office to ascertain the composition of the NDC and the quorum.

She said this is in line with Articles 8.1 [1] and 23 of the Jubilee Party constitution, respectively.

The office also said Kioni did not submit comprehensive minutes of the NDC to determine the process and the mode of election, given that only an extract of the minutes were submitted.

"Owing to the above, the documents submitted are incomplete," reads the letter signed by the Registrar of Political Parties, Anne Nderitu.

Nderitu said Kioni had only submitted a notice convening the NDC meeting of May 22, 2023, a notice of change of venue, and resolutions of the special NDC meeting.

During the NDC, Uhuru's faction named Jamleck Kamau as the national director of elections, allegedly taking over from Kega.

The party also appointed blogger Pauline Njoroge as its new deputy organising secretary, while Maison Leshomo was the women’s league national chairperson.

Rights activist Maison Leshoomo was named the Women’s League national chair, while former Principal Secretary Saitoti Torome was appointed the national chairman to replace Nelson Dzuiya.

Yasin Noor was endorsed as the deputy secretary general to replace Joshua Kutuny.

Under the changes, the party was to have four deputy party leaders. They are Beatrice Gambo (strategy), Maoka Maore (operations), Joseph Manje (programmes), and Kados Muiruri (outreach).

Others expelled were the nominated former MPs Naomi Shaban, Boniface Kinoti, Jimi Angwenyi, Mutava Musyimi, and Rachel Nyamai.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post

Adblocker detected! Please consider reading this notice.

We've detected that you are using AdBlock Plus or some other adblocking software which is preventing the page from fully loading.

We don't have any banner, Flash, animation, obnoxious sound, or popup ad. We do not implement these annoying types of ads!

We need money to operate the site, and almost all of it comes from our online advertising.

Please add to your ad blocking whitelist or disable your adblocking software.