Ezekiel Machogu, the education cabinet secretary photo
Ezekiel Machogu, the education cabinet secretary. 

According to Ezekiel Machogu, the education cabinet secretary, pupils transferring to junior secondary school this month won't have to pay any tuition.

Machogu said on Monday that the current regime has so far allocated Ksh. 15,000 for each of the more than 1 million grade 6 students who took the KPSEA examinations in November of last year.

"President William Ruto has ordered the Treasury to set aside Ksh. 15,000 per pupil as capitation to support free education in all public schools. 

"The government will invest a final tally of Ksh. 9.6 billion in junior secondary students this fiscal year," according to the CS.

"This is practically comparable to what senior secondary pupils will continue to collect at Ksh. 22, Ksh. 244," he said.

" Only schools with boarding sections would be permitted to collect fees," according to Machogu, who made the announcement at the Kenya Institute of Curriculum Development (KICD) headquarters in Nairobi.

" No school should charge students in Grade 7 any fees unless such institutions offer boarding facilities," he added.

Machogu further pointed out that junior secondary schools are no longer allowed to charge Grade 7 students an entry fee.

This is a result of the 100% transfer policy at the same school where the learners were admitted for Grade 6.

He said, "This is the fundamental obligation that basic education, from elementary through secondary, be mandatory and free."

Between November 28 and November 30, 1,287,597 Grade Six students took the KPSEA exams.

Post a Comment

What is your say on this

Previous Post Next Post